top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatherine Comerford

Strength in the Struggle

Updated: Jun 30, 2022

Gosh dang - it's been a tough season! I feel like I just cannot seem to catch a break sometimes. Can anyone relate?


First off, I'd like to go into a little backstory about my current predicament (because I get asked on a regular basis): I am technically still employed by Delta. I was hurt at work back on September 11th, 2019, (what an ironic date, right?) and my back basically gave out on me in March of 2020, right after I transferred to Salt Lake City. To make a long, laden story more concise, I will just note that due to a combination of the pandemic, taking a few months off work voluntarily (to "help the operation" and prevent furloughs), and my injury, I have barely worked a flight in the two-in-a-half years since my transfer. However, after much physical therapy, chiropractic care, three rounds of epidural injections, an ablation, an intracept procedure, and lots of walks and hikes, I am much improved - praise be to GOD! Therefore, thankfully, in February I was cleared to be able to work, just not in the full-time role of a Flight Attendant, due to the cabin pressure and labor of the job exacerbating my condition. So now I'm in a waiting period, trying to enjoy the time in the midst of the chaos that God has brought me to, but also disheartened that I likely may never be able to go back to the career I love so much. I also am the type that cannot just sit around and NOT do something, so I've been devoting myself to my church home with volunteer efforts, spending more time with friends, and basically trying to take better care of my mental, spiritual, and physical health.


With all that said, I want to get down to the nitty gritty of why I felt led to write about this topic: Strength in the Struggle. Needless to say, the past two plus years have been TOUGH. I have questioned a lot of things I shouldn't be having doubts about, I have been on the verge of multiple meltdowns, and I have shed a lot of tears - A LOT. Many days (shoot, nearly every day), I get in the mindset of feeling like a failure. I am embarrassed to say that I'm not working because I believe in our culture what we do and how much we make equates to our success. It has been difficult for me to get out of that mentality and realize that I have been able to accomplish many things and devote myself in ways that wouldn't have been possible had it not been for this time off, which is such a blessing. Nevertheless, I am still struggling.


However, one thing that I have come to realize during this season is that struggling is a blessing. It produces perseverance (Romans 5:3) and brings forth restoration and strength (1 Peter 5:10). It also pushes us to rely on God for the strength we lack.


I have recently had the epiphany of why the phrase, "God won't ever give you more than you can handle", has never sat right with me. I heard a girl explaining (on TikTok - yes, my guilty pleasure) how God gives us MORE than we can handle because He wants us to lean on Him to obtain the needed strength in order to get through the hard times. Just as Isaiah 40:29 states, "He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength" (NKJV). It is through His mighty power that we are able to have our strength grow. Therefore, we should be grateful for these struggles we face, rather than throw a pity party for walking (or running) through difficult times. I know it's not easy; trust me. But once we start viewing the hardships as blessings, it transforms our mindset completely. I love how the Psalmist so boldly writes, "It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn your decrees" (Psalm 119:71, NIV). How often are we appreciative of our afflictions?


So, friend...I want to encourage you in whatever difficult season you may be walking through - whether it be a trial, a waiting period, or grieving after a loss - this is only temporary. It will come to pass, and we will one day receive the crown of life (James 1:12) and live in glory "beyond all comparison" (2 Corinthians 4:17). In the meantime, learn to cast all of your anxiety onto Him (1 Peter 5:7) and draw yourself closer to Him in the struggle/strength period.

425 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page